Posted in WRD 308

WRD 308: Post 11

Original Cover:

Skyrim_Cover

Remixed Cover:

Skyrim Cover Remix

I chose to expand upon the Skyrim box art, as it is a fairly simple design with a room to incorporate further additions. My first thought was to use an image of Skyrim’s vast landscape or its tallest mountain, but I decided to used one of the most iconic barrows of the game, as much of Skyrim is experienced through its dungeons. I was originally going to avoid using the original cover altogether, using the sky or a similarly open area as the background for the title text in order to keep the space from being overly busy, which would detract from the ability to read the words. After choosing the barrow image, I realized I would need some sort of stability to hold the image together, at which point I brought in the idea of keeping the original cover. By breaking through it, I wished to show the expansiveness of the world beyond, demonstrating that there was much more to be seen behind the bounds of the box art. I kept the original logo, but used a transparent version in order to make as much of the barrow behind it visible as possible, then placed a fire within the dragon’s gut to draw the eye.

One thought on “WRD 308: Post 11

  1. Great ideas here. I see how the cracks are also like smoke, or could be like smoke too. Some cool use of visual graphics that are layered here. The color schemes stays consistent, same frame it looks like.

    What about the font? That’s part of the packaging/marketing for it?

    I would encourage you, again, to examine who the artist for the design is, and also for the cover of the game. It may be the same person, or rather a the rhetoric for a particular brand that different artists sign up to create. I wonder about how that contrasts with books, or if these same designers cross genres as well. I imagine they do.

    Like

Leave a comment